Contact us

RCC Structure

The Regional Consultative Committee on Disaster Management (RCC) comprises of members who are working in key Government positions in the national disaster management systems of countries of the Asia and the Pacific region and was established at the initiative by the Asian Disaster Preparedness Center (ADPC) in 2000. Its role as a consultative mechanism for regional cooperation is recognized and affirmed by the Charter of ADPC.

To date, 26 countries are represented by 30 RCC Members from the Asia and Pacific regions, namely, Afghanistan, Bangladesh Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor Leste and Viet Nam.

The RCC has established a system of Chair and Vice Chair in the intervening period between the two meetings. The host country of the meeting assumes chairmanship and the incoming host country acts as the vice-chair and takes over when it hosts.

Each meeting of the RCC has a special theme as selected by the host country. In this theme session presentations are made by selected member countries, on achievements, challenges, good practices in the countries on the said theme. The meeting also has a separate session showcasing the achievements, practices on disaster risk management of the host country. Lessons learned by the member countries from the recent disasters in the region, in terms of providing response as well as planning for recovery and reconstruction are presented at the meeting. In the context of strengthening regional cooperation, RCC also has been organizing a special session on progress on the implementation of the Hyogo Framework for Action (HFA) in Asia. This session has been organized in the past in partnership with UN/ISDR and UNDP. Apart from the presentations by the countries, group discussions are also held on various issues related to regional cooperation for disaster risk